Caribbean Vocational Qualification

The Caribbean Vocational Qualification or CVQ as it is commonly called is based on a competency based approach to training, assessment and certification. Candidates are expected to demonstrate competence in attaining occupational standards developed by practitioners, industry experts and employers. Those standards when approved by CARICOM allow for easy movement across the Region. Currently, CVQs are planned to reflect a Qualification framework of five levels. These are:

Level 1

Directly Supervised/Entry –Level Worker

Level 2

Supervised Skilled Worker

Level 3

Independent or Autonomous Skilled Worker

Level 4

Specialized or Supervisory Worker

Level 5

Managerial and/or Professional Worker

CVQs are awarded to those candidates who would have met the required standards in all of the prescribed units of study.
Currently ONLY Approved  Public Government Schools are allowed to sit this qualification in Jamaica.